Wednesday, 13 July 2016

Review: Last Light by CJ Lyons

A brutally murdered family… a wronged man in prison

From bestselling author CJ Lyons comes a new, standalone Lucy Guardino series for fans of Lisa Gardner and Angela Marsons
1987: Lily Martin is horrifically murdered along with her young child in Texas.
Today: Life should be easy after leaving the FBI – but not if you're detective Lucy Guardino. Lucy has always seen herself as a normal mum who happened to have a job chasing the worst of the worst. But after a violent predator targets her family and she's injured, Lucy sacrifices her career at the Bureau.
She joins the Beacon Group, a firm that specializes in cold cases. Lucy fears she's traded the elite for shepherding a team of amateurs.
Sent to rural Texas, Guardino is to investigate a case that's already been closed with the killers behind bars for twenty-nine years.
But who really killed Lily Martin and her infant daughter? Why was an entire family targeted for annihilation? And what price will Lucy pay to expose a truth, when people will kill to keep it buried?
Last Light marks the start of a new Lucy Guardino series which stands alone from her previous novels. If you enjoy captivating suspense and intelligent storytelling, with strong and vulnerable characters and a freight-train pace, then you'll love the rush of this heart-pounding thriller.

I was gripped by the new CJ Lyons book from the harrowing prologue, harrowing though it may have been, it was excellent and left me wanting to know what was to become of the situation.

It then took me a little while to get back into the book as it flipped to the Beacon Group who were putting a new team together to deal with cold cases, hiring ex FBI agent Lucy Guardino who was medically retired. 

As things started to progress into the case of a man who confessed to murder back in the 80s who it seems may be innocent. The Beacon Group join forces with his son to uncover any evidence that may or may not lead to uncovering his innocence.

I enjoyed the pace of this story and the twists and turns of what seemed to be an extremely corrupt legal system in the small US town. The ending really was good, exciting and although I anticipated the outcome, it was still written in a compelling way.

I will definitely read more in this new series!

Many thanks to ED PR for providing an ecopy in exchange for an honest review

No comments:

Post a Comment